Brit Politics Logo

BASILDON -  prediction and result Conservative lose control

The bellweather constituency of Basildon was divided up by the Boundary Commissioners before the 2010 election with Basildon and Billericay now a safe Conservative seat and South Basildon and East Thurrock less so. 

The Conservatives control the council and although Labour should make some headway, they alone will not unseat the Conservatives.  

UKIP won in three county council wards, if narrowly, and can be expected to win at least a couple of wards in previously safe Conservative areas in Wickford or Billericay;  Labour should win Pitsea NW easily, probably also Laindon Park and may win Pitsea SE but only if they do as well as in 2012.  

The Lib Dems are defending Nethermayne from Labour and each party has won the ward in the last two contests and UKIP won the county ward that includes this area.

Your Next Good Read