Brit Politics Logo

Post 2015 General Election Cabinet

Following the 2015 UK General Election, Prime Minister David Cameron put together his first all-conservative cabinet. In addition to traditional positions, George Osborne, Chancellor of the Exchequer was appointed First Minister of State, in effect a Deputy Prime Minister for the UK.

Boris Johnson MP, currently Mayor of London is appointed to the Prime Minister's political cabinet, looking at strategy but not a formal departmental role as he feels he will not have enough time. Johnson's term ends in 2017.

Lord Feldman has been made Chairman of the Party and will attend the political cabinet, Grant Shapps has been moved to International Development Minister.

Robert Halfon MP, has been appointed a Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party and will likely be the TV face of the party.

Cabinet and Ministerial Appointments  

 Cabinet Post     

   Previous Post Holder

   May 2015 Post Holder        

Chancellor of the Exchequer 

George Osborne
George Osborne
Foreign Secretary

 Phillip Hammond   Phillip Hammond
Home Secretary

 Theresa May  Theresa May
Defence Secretary

 Michael Fallon  Michael Fallon
Education Secretary

 Nicky Morgan Nicky Morgan 
Health Secretary  Jeremy Hunt  Jeremy Hunt
Chief Secretary to the Treasury

 Danny Alexander (Lib Dem) Greg Hands 
(move from Deputy Chief Whip)

Economic Secretary to the Treasury (City Minister)

 -  Harriett Baldwin
Chief Whip  Michael Gove  Mark Harper
(former immigration Minister)

Deputy Chief Whip  - Anne Milton
Justice Secretary & Lord Chancellor 

 Chris Grayling  Michael Gove
Leader of the House of Commons  William Hague  Chris Grayling
(move from Justice)

Deputy Leader of the House of Commons

 - Therese Coffey 
Work and Pensions Secretary

 Iain Duncan Smith  Iain Duncan Smith
Leader of the House of Lords and Lord Privy Seal

Baroness Stowell  Baroness Stowell 
Trade Minister and Foreign Office and BIS

 -  Francis Maude
Energy and Climate Change Ed Davey (Lib Dem)   Amber Rudd
(departmental promotion)

Business Secretary  Vince Cable (Lib Dem) Sajid Javid
(move from Culture Secretary

Employment Minister Esther McVey   Priti Patel
(move from the Treasury)

Culture Secretary  Sajid Javid   John Whittingdale
(former Select Committee Chairman)

Transport Secretary

 Patrick McLoughlin Patrick McLoughlin 
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Liz Truss   Liz Truss
Small Business Minister  - Anna Soubry 
(move from defence)

Communities and Local Government Secretary Eric Pickles  Greg Clark 
(move from Business, Innovation & Skills/Higher Education)

International Development Minister 

 Grant Shapps
(move from Party Chairman)

Cabinet Office

 Francis Maude  Oliver Letwin
International Development

 Justine Greening Justine Greening 
Northern Ireland Secretary Theresa Villiers  Theresa Villiers 

Secretary of State for Wales

Stephen Crabb  Stephen Crabb 
Scottish Secretary  Alastair Carmichael (Lib Dem)

 David Mundell

Cabinet Office Minister  - Matt Hancock
(move from Business, Innovation & Skills) 

Pensions Minister  Steve Webb (Lib Dem) Ros Altman

Communities & Local Government Minister Mark Francois 
(move from Ministry of Defence)

Armed Forces Minister  - Penny Mordaunt 
(move from PPS at Communities)

Minister for Sport 

 -  Tracey Crouch
Minister of State for Security  James Brokenshire John Hayes 
(move from Transport)

Health Minister  Alistair Burt

Minister of State at DECC  - Andrea Leadsom  

Attorney General  Jeremy Wright Jeremy Wright
Universities and Science Minister  -  Jo Johnson

Minister of State for Defence Procurement  Phillip Dunne

Minister of State for Children and Families   Edward Timpson  

Minister of State for Skills  Nick Boles Nick Boles 

Minister of State at DEFRA  George Eustice

Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury

 - Damian Hinds 
Minister for Disabled People  - Justin Tomlinson 
Equalities Minister

Caroline Dineage