BRIT POLITICS, Study, Learn,  Create, Inspire
Parliament Square, Polling Station, Pressure Groups, Churchill Statue, Voting banner

May 2016 | UK Elections Portal

May Elections 2016 Results

London Mayoral Election

After 16 years of Ken Livingstone and Boris Johnson MP, the people of London elected Sadiq Khan, Labour MP for Tooting as the new Mayor of London.

  • 44% of 1st preference votes went to Khan
  • 35% of 1st preference votes went to Goldsmith
  • 45% voter turnout up 7% from the election in 2012

Download the results as a PDF here.






Votes – 1st Preference


Votes – 2nd Preference



 Sadiq Khan  Labour  1,1487,16  388,090 Elected
 Zac Goldsmith  Conservative  909,755  250,214  2
 Caroline Pidgeon  Liberal Democrat  120,005  335,931  4
 Sian Berry  Green  150,678  468,318  3
 George Galloway  Respect  37,007  117,080
 Peter Whittle  UK Independence Party (UKIP)  94,373  223,253
 Paul Golding  Britain First  31,372  73,883
 Sophie Walker  Women’s Equality  53,055  198,720
 David Furness  BNP  13,325  36,168
 Ankit Love  One Love  4,941  28,290
 Lee Harris  CISTA  20,537  67,495
 Prince Zylinkski  Independent  1,302  24,646

London Assembly Elections

Elections also took place for the Greater London Assembly to represent individual constituencies e.g. Bexley and Bromley and London-wide.

  • 43% of voters chose Labour for Assembly Members
  • 9 constituencies went to Labour
  • UKIP got the their first ever two seats on the Assembly


Total No. of Members on Assembly

 Labour  12
 Conservative  8
 Green  2
 UKIP  2
 Liberal Democrat  1

*the figures below are part of the total in table above


No. of London-wide members on Assembly

 Labour  3
 Conservative  3
 Green  2
 UKIP  2
 Liberal Democrat  1

Police & Crime Commissioners

40 regions elected PCCs for only the second time. The biggest change was that many of the independents who were elected in the first ever PCC elections were replaced with established political parties. The highest turnout was in West Yorkshire at 33.2% Turnout overall due to being combined with many local elections was generally higher.

Below are those regions that elected new PCCs for 2016.



Candidate 2016 




 Previous PCC party

 Bedfordshire   Kathryn Holloway    Conservative     Labour
 Cheshire   David Keane   Labour    Conservative
 Hampshire   Michael Lane   Conservative    Independent
 Humberside   Keith Hunter   Labour    Conservative
 Kent   Matthew Scott   Conservative    Independent
 Leicestershire   Willy Bach   Labour    Conservative
 Norfolk   Lorne Green   Conservative    Independent 
 Surrey   David Munro   Conservative    Independent
 Warwickshire   Phillip Seccombe   Conservative    Independent
 West Mercia   John-Paul Campion   Conservative    Independent

Scottish Parliament Elections

The biggest change in the Scottish Parliament was the Conservative Party becoming the official opposition to the SNP also regarded as the unionist voice for Scotland. Although SNP Leader Nicola Sturgeon claimed the third term as ‘historic’ they did not secure a majority and will govern in a minority role. Labour suffered it’s worst defeat since 1910 and the Green’s had a good night picking up four new Members of the Scottish Parliament.

  • Turnout was 55.6%
  • The SNP received 46.5% of the vote



 No of Seats 





 Scottish Nationalist Party     63    – 6    Largest party but no overall majority 
 Conservative Party    31    + 16    Official opposition
 Labour Party    24    – 13    
 Green Party    6    + 4    
 Liberal Democrats    5    –    

English Council Elections 

There were a number of changes in the English Local Elections but Labour did not receive the shock 150 seat loss that was predicted. Many Labour critics however said that Jeremy Corbyn’s Labour Party should have fared better in opposition against the Conservative government. The Liberal Democrats after a difficult few years saw some gains as did UKIP.



Councils (Total)


Councils (Change) 


 Seats (Total) 


 Seats Change

Labour Party     57    – 1    1,280    – 24
Conservative Party      34    0    753    – 35
UKIP    0    0    58    + 26
Independents    0    0    76    – 3
Liberal Democrats    4    + 1    341    + 39
Green Party    0    0    32    – 1

Elections to the Northern Ireland Assembly

After over two days of counting the DUP remained the largest party and Arlene Foster, First Minister. The DUP received 29.2% of first preference votes. Sinn Fein and the SDLP both lost seats while the People before Profit Party won their first ever seat. Turnout was higher than other parts of the UK at 54.2%.



No. of Seats 





 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP)      38    –    DUP remains the largest party
 Sinn Fein    28    – 1    
 SDLP    12    –    
 UUP    16    – 2    
 APNI    8    –    
 Other    6    + 3    

Elections to the National Assembly of Wales 

The biggest change in the Welsh Assembly was the reduction in the Labour vote. UKIP also picked up seven assembly seats for the first time including the return of former conservative minister Neil Hamilton after a twenty year hiatus. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood also won the seat of Rhondda in a suprise win.

  • Turnout was 45.3%
  • UKIP share of the vote was up by 12.5%
  • Labour’s share of the vote was 34.7% but down 7.6% since 2011. 



No. of Seats 





 Labour     29    – 1    Labour remained the largest party but did not have a majority 
 Plaid Cymru     12    + 1    
 Conservatives     11    – 3    
 UKIP    7    + 7    
 Liberal Democrats    1    – 4    

Constituency By-Elections (UK Parliament)

The Labour Party held on to the constituencies of Sheffield Brightside and Ogmore. UKIP came second in both contests.